Three Seas summit in Bucharest seeks backing from Western Europe

The Three Seas Initiative was launched two years ago at the behest of the Croatian and Polish governments. Those participating in the initiative include the three Baltic states (Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania), the countries in the Visegrad group (Poland, Slovakia, the Czech Republic and Hungary), as well as Austria, Slovenia, Croatia, Bulgaria and Romania. Bar Austria, all participating nations only joined the European Union after 2004.

During the first Three Seas summit in the Croatian city of Dubrovnik in 2016, the 12 members agreed to cooperate closely in the fields of energy and infrastructure. As a result, the much hyped “Via Carpatia” expressway, stretching from the Baltic Sea all the way down to Thessaloniki on the Aegean, is finally set to be completed.

To continue reading, please visit