Covid-19: Austria introduces new requirement for those transiting country

Austria has introduced a mandatory declaration for those, including Bulgarian citizens, transiting its territory, Bulgaria’s Foreign Ministry said.

The declaration confirms that the person will transit Austria without stopping, with proof required such as an air ticket, train ticket or bus ticket.

Those who will not be leaving Austria immediately must confirm in the declaration that they will self-quarantine at home or in suitable accommodation for a period of 10 days, that they will cover the costs of any such accommodation and will not leave home or the accommodation for the duration of the quarantine.

The declaration is available in English at this link and in German at this link.

According to an official Austrian government website, Bulgaria is on the list of countries with an increased risk of Covid-19.

People who want to enter Austria from countries in the Schengen visa zone or from Andorra, Bulgaria, Ireland, Croatia, Monaco, Romania, San Marino, Vatican, the United Kingdom or Cyprus must have a certificate of a negative PCR test done no more than 72 hours before the time of entry.

(Photo: Maxpixel)

The Sofia Globe’s coverage of the Covid-19 situation in Bulgaria is supported by the Embassy of Switzerland.

Please support independent journalism by clicking on the orange button below. For as little as three euro a month or the equivalent in other currencies, you can support The Sofia Globe via and get access to exclusive subscriber-only content:

Become a Patron!

The Sofia Globe staff

The Sofia Globe - the Sofia-based fully independent English-language news and features website, covering Bulgaria, the Balkans and the EU. Sign up to subscribe to's daily bulletin through the form on our homepage.