Juncker announces proposed European Commission to take office in November

Jean-Claude Juncker, to take office as European Commission President on November 1 2014, has announced the names and portfolios of his commissioners.

The announcement was made at a special briefing on September 10, following nominations by the 28 member states of the European Union and interviews by Juncker of each commissioner-designate.

The list follows an earlier agreement among EU leaders on the appointment of Poland’s Donald Tusk as the next European Council President as of December 1, and of Italy’s Federica Mogherini who will take over from Catherine Ashton as EU foreign policy chief from November.

The commissioners-designate will appear before MEPs for hearings ahead of a European Parliament vote on the Juncker European Commission.

The list of the Juncker commission is as follows:

High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy / Vice-President – Federica Mogherini (Italy)

First Vice-President, in charge of Better Regulation, Inter-Institutional Relations, the Rule of Law and the Charter of Fundamental Rights – Frans Timmermans (The Netherlands)

Vice-President for Budget and Human Resources – Kristalina Georgieva (Bulgaria)

Vice-President for the Digital Single Market – Andrus Ansip (Estonia)

Vice-President for Energy Union – Alenka Bratušek (Slovenia)

Vice-President for the Euro and Social Dialogue – Valdis Dombrovskis (Latvia)

Vice-President for Jobs, Growth, Investment and Competitiveness – Jyrki Katainen (Finland)

Agriculture and Rural Development – Phil Hogan (Ireland)

Climate Action and Energy – Miguel Arias Cañete (Spain)

Competition – Margrethe Vestager (Denmark)

Digital Economy and Society – Günther Oettinger (Germany)

Economic and Financial Affairs, Taxation and Customs Union – Pierre Moscovici (France)

Education, Culture, Youth and Citizenship – Tibor Navracsics (Hungary)

Employment, Social Affairs, Skills and Labour Mobility – Marianne Thyssen (Belgium)

Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries – Karmenu Vella (Malta)

European Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations – Johannes Hahn (Austria)

Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union – Jonathan Hill (UK)

Health and Food Safety – Vytenis Andriukaitis (Lithuania)

Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Management – Christos Stylianides (Cyprus)

Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs – Elżbieta Bieńkowska (Poland)

International Cooperation and Development – Neven Mimica (Croatia)

Justice, Consumers and Gender Equality – Věra Jourová (Czech Republic)

Migration and Home Affairs – Dimitris Avramopoulos (Greece)

Regional Policy – Corina Crețu (Romania)

Research, Science and Innovation – Carlos Moedas (Portugal)

Trade – Cecilia Malmström (Sweden)

Transport and Space – Maroš Šefčovič (Slovakia)

Illustration: europa.eu
Illustration: europa.eu



The Sofia Globe staff

The Sofia Globe - the Sofia-based fully independent English-language news and features website, covering Bulgaria, the Balkans and the EU. Sign up to subscribe to sofiaglobe.com's daily bulletin through the form on our homepage. https://www.patreon.com/user?u=32709292