Russia’s war on Ukraine: EU prolongs sanctions on individuals

Meeting on March 13, the Council of the EU decided to prolong the restrictive measures targeting those responsible for undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine for a further six months, until September 15 2023, it said in a statement.

The existing restrictive measures provide for travel restrictions for natural persons, the freezing of assets, and a ban on making funds or other economic resources available to the listed individuals and entities.

Sanctions will continue to apply to 1473 individuals and 205 entities, many of which are targeted in response to Russia’s ongoing unjustified and unprovoked military aggression against Ukraine, the statement said.

It said that after February 24 2022, in response to Russia’s military aggression against Ukraine, the EU massively expanded sanctions against Russia with the aim of significantly weakening Russia’s economic base, depriving it of critical technologies and markets, and significantly curtailing its ability to wage war.

In the European Council conclusions of February 9 2023, the EU reiterated its resolute condemnation of Russia’s war of aggression against Ukraine, which constitutes a blatant violation of the UN Charter, and has brought immense suffering and destruction upon Ukraine and its people, the statement said.

“Russia must stop its atrocious war immediately,” the Council of the EU said.

“The European Union will stand by Ukraine with steadfast support for as long as it takes, and remains unwavering in its support for Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity,” it said.

Earlier, on February 20, the Council of the EU renewed until February 24 2024 the restrictive measures imposed in response to the illegal recognition, occupation or annexation by the Russian Federation of Donetsk, Kherson, Luhansk and Zaporizhzhia regions of Ukraine.

EU candidate countries North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania, Ukraine and Bosnia and Herzegovina, potential candidate country Georgia, and the EFTA countries Iceland and Liechtenstein, members of the European Economic Area, aligned themselves with that decision.

They would ensure that their national policies conform to the Council of the EU’s decision, according to a statement at the time, which welcomed the commitment made by the countries.

(Photo: EC Audiovisual Service)

Please support independent journalism by clicking on the ‘become a patron’ button below. For as little as three euro a month or the equivalent in other currencies, you can support The Sofia Globe via

Become a Patron!

The Sofia Globe staff

The Sofia Globe - the Sofia-based fully independent English-language news and features website, covering Bulgaria, the Balkans and the EU. Sign up to subscribe to's daily bulletin through the form on our homepage.