EU in deal with Turkey, N Macedonia, Ukraine on Covid certificate recognition

The European Commission adopted on August 19 three equivalence decisions for North Macedonia, Turkey and Ukraine, the Commission said in a statement.

This means that the countries will be connected to the European Union’s system and that Covid certificates issued by North Macedonia, Turkey and Ukraine will be accepted in the EU, as of August 20, under the same conditions as the EU Digital Covid Certificate.

At the same time, North Macedonia, Turkey and Ukraine have agreed to accept the EU Digital Covid Certificate for travel from the EU to their countries.

Their participation in the EU’s Digital Covid Certificate will thus facilitate safe travel to and from the EU, the Commission said.

The Commission continues co-operating with other third countries – meaning, non-EU countries, to connect them to the EU system, the statement said.

For the rest of The Sofia Globe’s continuing coverage of the Covid-19 situation, please click here.

The Sofia Globe’s coverage of the Covid-19 situation in Bulgaria is supported by the Embassies of Switzerland and Finland.

Please support independent journalism by clicking on the orange button below. For as little as three euro a month or the equivalent in other currencies, you can support The Sofia Globe via

Become a Patron!

The Sofia Globe staff

The Sofia Globe - the Sofia-based fully independent English-language news and features website, covering Bulgaria, the Balkans and the EU. Sign up to subscribe to's daily bulletin through the form on our homepage.