Covid-19: Germany declares all of Bulgaria a risk region

Germany has declared the entire territory of Bulgaria a “risk region”, imposing restrictive measures on people travelling to Germany from Bulgaria, the embassy in Berlin said on October 30.

The step takes effect on November 1.

Everyone arriving in Germany who has been in Bulgaria in the past 14 days will have to undergo a mandatory test for new coronavirus. A negative test is the sole criterion for exemption from 14-day home quarantine.

The mandatory quarantine requirement does not apply to passengers who transited through a “risk region”.

Up to November 1, the list of “risk regions” in Bulgaria includes the city of Sofia and the districts of Blagoevgrad, Razgrad, Sliven and Turgovishte.

(Photo of Berlin via pixabay)

For the rest of The Sofia Globe’s continuing coverage of the Covid-19 situation in Bulgaria, please click here.

The Sofia Globe’s coverage of the Covid-19 situation in Bulgaria is supported by the Embassies of Switzerland and Finland.

Please support independent journalism by clicking on the orange button below. For as little as three euro a month or the equivalent in other currencies, you can support The Sofia Globe via and get access to exclusive subscriber-only content:

Become a Patron!

The Sofia Globe staff

The Sofia Globe - the Sofia-based fully independent English-language news and features website, covering Bulgaria, the Balkans and the EU. Sign up to subscribe to's daily bulletin through the form on our homepage.