Covid-19: Bulgaria removes PCR test, quarantine requirements for arrivals from Turkey, Serbia, Belarus

People arriving in Bulgaria from Turkey, Serbia and Belarus may be admitted to the country without the need to present a certificate of a negative PCR test for Covid-19 and need not go into mandatory quarantine, according to an order issued by Bulgaria’s Health Minister Kostadin Angelov.

The order that was in effect requiring mandatory quarantining of people arriving from these countries from August 20 to 31 has been withdrawn, the Health Ministry said in a statement.

The country from which a traveller arrives is considered to be the country of departure, irrespective of the traveller’s stay or transit through other countries during the journey.

Entry into Bulgaria from other European Union countries is allowed without restrictions. Travelling to and from Norway, Switzerland, Iceland and Liechtenstein, as well as the United Kingdom, Andorra, Monaco, Vatican City State and Republic of San Marino, is also allowed without restrictions.

(Photo: Margaritakiril86)

For the rest of The Sofia Globe’s continuing coverage of the Covid-19 situation in Bulgaria, please click here.

The Sofia Globe’s coverage of the Covid-19 situation in Bulgaria is supported by the Embassy of Switzerland.

Please support independent journalism by clicking on the orange button below. For as little as three euro a month or the equivalent in other currencies, you can support The Sofia Globe via and get access to exclusive subscriber-only content:

Become a Patron!



The Sofia Globe staff

The Sofia Globe - the Sofia-based fully independent English-language news and features website, covering Bulgaria, the Balkans and the EU. Sign up to subscribe to's daily bulletin through the form on our homepage.