Reports name nominees to the proposed new Borissov cabinet

These are the nominations to Bulgaria’s next Cabinet, as agreed by Boiko Borissov’s GERB and the Reformist Bloc, according to unconfirmed media reports on November 4.

Bulgarian media published lists with striking similarities, except in the case of the tourism minister, which three separate reports assigned to three different people.

Prime Minister: Boiko Borissov (GERB)

Deputy Prime Minister for EU funds and economy: Tomislav Donchev (GERB)

Deputy Prime Minister for administration and e-government: Roumyana Buchvarova (GERB)

Deputy Prime Minister for European affairs: Meglena Kouneva (Reformist Bloc)

Ministers of –

Interior: Vesselin Vuchkov (GERB)

Finance: Vladislav Goranov (GERB)

Economy: Bozhidar Lukarski (Reformist Bloc)

Energy: Delyan Dobrev (GERB)

Regional Development: Lilyana Pavlova (GERB)

Foreign Affairs: Daniel Mitov (from the quota of the Reformist Bloc and a carry-over from the caretaker cabinet)

Justice: Hristo Ivanov (from the quota of the Reformist Bloc and a carry-over from the caretaker cabinet)

Defence: Nikolai Nenchev (Reformist Bloc)

Health: Petar Moskov (Reformist Bloc)

Education: Professor Todor Tanev (Reformist Bloc)

Social Policy: Ivailo Kalfin (ABC) – subject to consent by the ABC party

Transport: Ivailo Moskovski (GERB)

Agriculture: Dessislava Taneva (GERB)

Environment: Ivelina Vassileva (GERB)

Tourism: Ivo Marinov/Nikorina Popova/Bozhidar Dimitrov (GERB)

Culture: Vezhdi Rashidov (GERB)

Sport: Krassen Kralev (GERB)



The Sofia Globe staff

The Sofia Globe - the Sofia-based fully independent English-language news and features website, covering Bulgaria, the Balkans and the EU. Sign up to subscribe to's daily bulletin through the form on our homepage.