Greek parliament grants leftist SYRIZA govt vote of confidence with 155 votes

A total of 155 members of the Greek parliament gave their support to the SYRIZA government so that Greece can get to work and implement the harshest austerity measures to date.

Greece’s parliament provided a widely-expected vote of confidence to the leftist-dominated SYRIZA coalition government shortly before 2am on October 8 2015. Of the 299 MPs in Greece’s parliament, 155 voted in favour, 144 against and one abstained. The abstention was that of conservative deputy Nikos Dendias, who sent a letter concerning his opinions which did not count towards the voting.

For the full story, please click here.

(Photo of Greek prime minister Alexis Tsipras: EC Audiovisual Service)