Australia to participate in Junior Eurovision 2015 song contest in Bulgaria

Australia is to compete in the 2015 Junior Eurovision song contest, being held in Bulgaria’s capital city Sofia on November 21, host broadcaster Bulgarian National Television reported.

The entry of Australia, the 17th country to announce its participation, makes the 2015 Junior Eurovision the largest such competition since 2007 and joint second-largest.

Australia’s entry will be chosen by European Broadcast Union associate member SBS, and revealed on October 9. SBS has been broadcasting Eurovision in Australia for more than 30 years, and Junior Eurovision since it began in 2003.

The other 16 countries taking part in Junior Eurovision 2015, being held at Sofia’s Arena Armeec, are Albania, Armenia, Belarus, Bulgaria, Georgia, Ireland, Italy, Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, The Netherlands and Ukraine.

According to website, SBS will broadcast the Junior Eurovision Song Contest on November 28 at 7.30pm on SBS. Eurovision fans can also tune in to SBS’s live coverage of the contest from Sofia, Bulgaria, at 4.30am on November 22 on SBS – however televoting will not be used. The votes of Australia for this year will be decided 100 per cent by the jury.




The Sofia Globe staff

The Sofia Globe - the Sofia-based fully independent English-language news and features website, covering Bulgaria, the Balkans and the EU. Sign up to subscribe to's daily bulletin through the form on our homepage.