Central Election Commission: Final results of Bulgaria’s May 2014 European Parliament elections

The Central Election Commission (CEC) announced at a May 28 news conference the final results of Bulgaria’s European Parliament elections held three days earlier.

Four parties won seats: GERB six, the BSP four, the Movement for Rights and Freedoms four, Bulgaria Without Censorship two and the Reformist Bloc one.

For these parties, the percentages were GERB 30.4 per cent, BSP (standing as the “Coalition for Bulgaria”) 18.93 per cent, MRF 17.27 per cent, BWC (with coalition partners) 10.66 per cent and the Reformist Bloc 6.45 per cent.

The numbers of votes for the parties that won seats were GERB 680 838, BSP 424 037, MRF 386 725, BWC 238 629 and the Reformist Bloc 144 532.

Both the Bulgarian Socialist Party and the Reformist Bloc’s candidate lists, and ultimately the list of MEPs declared elected, were reshuffled by voters.

In the case of the BSP, party leader and list leader Sergei Stanishev was pushed down the list by preferential voting for Momchil Nekov, who had been number 15 on the BSP list. This is being ascribed, in part, to the BSP having had the ballot number 15, and about 34 000 of their voters having misunderstood the voting process.

Voters for the Reformist Bloc replaced list leader Meglena Kouneva with Svetoslav Marinov.

The MEPs announced by the CEC as elected (whether or not taking up their seats) are:

GERB: Tomislav Donchev, Andrei Kovachev, Maria Gabriel, Vladimir Uruchev, Eva Paunova and Emil Radev.

BSP: Momchil Nekov, Sergei Stanishev, Iliyana Yotova, Georgi Pirinski.

Movement for Rights and Freedoms: Filiz Hyusmenova, Delyan Peevski, Nedzhim Ali, Ilhan Ahmed. (Peevski has said he will not take up his seat; it will be taken by Iskra Mihailova, a cabinet minister.)

BWC: Nikolai Barekov, Angel Dzhambazki.

Reformist Bloc: Svetoslav Marinov

Voter turnout was 36.15 per cent, according to the CEC.

Full results of parties, coalitions and independents, as announced by the CEC:

Bulgarian Left: 0.492 per cent (11 014 votes)

Glas Naroden: 1.002 per cent (22 440 votes)

Party of the Greens: 0.223 per cent (5128 votes)

Green Party: 0.357 per cent (7989 votes)

Christian Democratic Party of Bulgaria: 0.132 per cent (2964 votes)

Bulgarian National Patriotic Party: 0.134 per cent (3000 votes)

Blue Unity: 0.482 per cent (10 786 votes)

Reformist Bloc: 6.454 per cent (144 532 votes)

National Front for the Salvation of Bulgaria: 3.053 per cent (68 376 votes)

BASTA: 0.327 per cent (7330 votes)

ABC: 4.022 per cent (90 061 votes)

(The Bulgarian Socialist Party’s) Coalition for Bulgaria: 18.935 per cent (424 037 votes)

Viktor Papazov: 0.342 per cent (7652 votes)

KOD: 0.915 per cent (20 487 votes)

GERB: 30.402 per cent (680 836 votes)

Evgenia Baneva: 0.276 per cent (6188 votes)

Ataka: 2.957 per cent (66 210 votes)

Union of Communists of Bulgaria: 0.144 per cent (3127 votes)

Bulgarian Communist Party: 0.416 per cent (9318 votes)

Roumyana Ugurchinska-Vincenti: 0.329 per cent (7373 votes)

Greens: 0.56 per cent (12 547 votes)

Bulgaria Without Censorship-VMRO-BNU-Gergovden: 10.656 per cent (238 629 votes)

Movement for Rights and Freedoms: 17.269 per cent (386 725 votes)

Nationalist Party of Bulgaria: 0.112 per cent (2499 votes).



The Sofia Globe staff

The Sofia Globe - the Sofia-based fully independent English-language news and features website, covering Bulgaria, the Balkans and the EU. Sign up to subscribe to sofiaglobe.com's daily bulletin through the form on our homepage. https://www.patreon.com/user?u=32709292