Second day of voting in 2014 European Parliament elections

Voters in two European Union countries, the Czech Republic and Ireland, began voting on May 23 in the 2014 European Parliament elections.

Voting in the Czech Republic continues on May 24, when Latvia, Malta and Slovakia will also vote, before the majority of EU countries vote on May 25 in what could be dubbed the “Super Sunday” of the 2014 EP elections.

In the Czech Republic, 38 parties, with a total of 849 candidates, are standing in the European Parliament elections. Czech voters will be electing 21 MEPs.

The Irish are electing 11 MEPs. Voting is in three constituencies, with 10 parties and some independent candidates competing in the elections overall.

The Netherlands and the United Kingdom were the first to vote on May 22, with first reports indicating that Dutch voters had relegated Geert Wilders’ far-right and euroskeptic Freedom Party to fourth place, a surprise after Wilders’ party had led opinion polls for several months.

In the UK elections, exit polls and results from the British elections of MEPs are being held back until voting ends in all EU countries, but in local elections, Nigel Farage’s UK Independence Party (UKIP) was making gains across the country, the BBC reported.

For more details on the 2014 elections, please see’s European Parliament elections 2014: The essential factfile.



The Sofia Globe staff

The Sofia Globe - the Sofia-based fully independent English-language news and features website, covering Bulgaria, the Balkans and the EU. Sign up to subscribe to's daily bulletin through the form on our homepage.