Serbian Progressive Party triumphs in March 16 elections

According to the Center for Free Elections and Democracy (CESID) preliminary results, the Serbian Progressive Party (SNS) gained an absolute majority at the general elections on March 16 2014, securing about 160 of 250 parliamentary seats.

SNS leader Aleksandar Vucic, who will undoubtedly be the next Prime Minister, congratulated party activists and announced reforms in order for the country to become a European Union member.

This is the best single party result in parliamentary elections since 1990 when the Socialist Party of Serbia (SPS), led at the time by Slobodan Milosevic, won 194 parliamentary seats.

CESID announced that SPS – led by the current Prime Minister Ivica Dacic – and its coalition partners were second ranking group with 15 per cent of the vote.

For the full story, please click here.