Poland’s PM Donald Tusk names seven new ministers in major government reshuffle

Polish prime minister Donald Tusk presented the new line-up of his government after the long-announced cabinet reshuffle naming seven new ministers, saying the changes are intended to give the team “new energy”.

Mateusz Szczurek, chief economist for central Europe with ING bank in Warsaw, replaces Jacek Rostowski as finance minister, who held the post for the past six years.

“I am pleased that one of the most talented Polish economists will take up the difficult missions,” Tusk said. “I am especially pleased as my intuition and nomination matched those of the departing minister Rostowski.”

Tusk, outgoing minister Rostowski and the new minister Szczurek share the same view on macroconomic strategy, which “secures continuity but also new energy,” Tusk added.

Tusk also promoted regional development minister Elzbieta Bienkowska to the rank of deputy prime minister. Her ministry will be merged with the transport ministry after resignation of the former transport minister Slawomir Nowak, suspected of having accepted an expensive watch as a bribe. Bienkowska will additionally be in charge of key infrastructure projects. Her ministry will also be merged with the ministry of infrastructure “to put it all in one set of hands,” Tusk said.

To read the full story, visit The Warsaw Voice.

(Photo of Donald Tusk: European People’s Party)