Socialist government recycles deputy ministers

With not all portfolios filled, the list of 17 deputy ministers announced by Plamen Oresharski on June 13 includes a number who were deputy ministers in the tripartite coalition.

There has been hard bargaining between the Bulgarian Socialist Party and the Movement for Rights and Freedoms about the list to be given to Oresharski, named as prime minister in what was originally billed as a “programme cabinet” of “experts”, to announce.

The negotiations have involved not only deputy ministers but also regional governors as the new government seeks to eradicate the influence and presence of people linked to the previous centre-right GERB government.

No names of deputy ministers have yet been announced for some key portfolios, in spite of Oresharski having said on June 12 that the list would be announced by the end of the week.

An announcement is awaited regarding deputy ministers in the energy, interior, investment planning, regional development and justice portfolios.

No current members of Parliament were among the list announced on June 13. Before these names are announced, it should be clear from the Central Election Commission which parliamentary candidates will be elevated to MPs.

The deputy ministers returning from previous socialist-MRF administrations are Todor Churov (foreign affairs), Mukkades Nalbant (education), Nadzhmi Ali (defence), Anna Yaneva (economy), Burhan Abazov (agriculture), Chavdar Georgiev (environment), Lazar Lazarov (labour and social policy).

The list so far:

Angel Velitchkov – Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Todor Churov – Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Lyudmila Petkova – Deputy Minister of Finance.

Nedzhmi Ali – Deputy Minister of Defence.

Ivan Ivanov – Deputy Minister of Defence.

Anna Yaneva – Deputy Minister of Economy and Energy.

Lazar Lazarov – Deputy Minister of Labour and Social Policy.

Svetlana Dyankova – Deputy Minister of Labour and Social Policy.

Iveta Iankova – Deputy Minister of Labour and Social Policy.

Burhan Abazov – Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Food.

Chavdar Georgiev – Deputy Minister of Environment and Water.

Boyko Penkov – Deputy Minister of Health.

Chavdar Slavov – Deputy Minister of Health.

Mukaddes Nalbant – Deputy Minister of Education and Science.

Velislava Kristeva – Deputy Minister of Culture.

Vasil Vasilev – Deputy Minister of Culture.

Maya Todorova – Deputy Minister of Youth and Sports.

(Photo: Clive Leviev-Sawyer)



The Sofia Globe staff

The Sofia Globe - the Sofia-based fully independent English-language news and features website, covering Bulgaria, the Balkans and the EU. Sign up to subscribe to's daily bulletin through the form on our homepage.